Return to Home Page Club News And Events Membership Information and How to Become a Member Club History Club Committee Members Contact Information



 Club History




The Penang Rifle Club had its beginning as the Penang Police and Volunteer Services Miniature Rifle Club. It was founded by a group of rifle shooting enthusiasts on 26th January, 1954, and comprised mem­bers from the Malayan Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve, the Federation of Malaya Reconnaisance Corps, the Malayan Auxiliary Air Force, the Police and Police Volunteer Reserve, and the Civil Defence Corps. Membership was exclusive to these Services, and the Objects of the Club were:­


1. To foster the art of marksmanship and teach the safe handling of firearms at all times.


2.  To provide facilities for the training of marksmen who may wish to participate in international shooting competitions,


3. To provide opportunities for young people to practise marksmanship so that they would be trained to serve the country when and if called upon to do so.


The first Patron was the then Resident Commissioner, Penang, Mr. R.P. Bingham and the first Presi­dent was the then Chief Police Officer, Penang, Mr. H.B.J. Donaldson. The first Hon. Secretary was Mr. D.K. Howell, and the first Hon. Treasurer was Mr. W.G. Colebeck. Mr. W,G. Cofebeck served for only


3 or 4 months and on his retirement from service, Mr. Khaw Bian Huat took over from him and served as Hon. Treasurer till 31.12.77 when he voluntarily retired "to make way for a younger man to serve", and the present. incumbent Mr. Cheong Yee Sin succeeded him.


During the year 1954, the Club became affiliated to the National Smallbore Rifle Association of the United Kingdom.


The Police Volunteer Reserve Headquarters in MacAlister Road served as temporary Club house, and by courtesy of the regular Police the 25 yards Miniature Rifle Range at Peel Avenue was placed at the Club's disposal on condition that it accepted responsibility for maintenance. There were only six firing paints for Smallbore Rifle shooting and conditions were at first primitive.


When the Chief Police Officer, Penang, Mr. H.B.J. Donaldson relinquished the Club Presidency in 1955, he was succeeded by his successor Mr. P.H. O'Flynn who remained President until he retired in 1958 when the first non-expatriate Chief Police Officer, Mr. J.J. Raj Sr., accepted office with Mr. R.J. Tolley as Chairman of the Management Committee.


In 1955 the membership rule was relaxed to permit licenced holders of firearms to join, but they were not eligible to hold office. Mr. R.J, Tolley succeeded Mr. D.K. Howell as Hon. Secretary in 1956.


In 1957 the name of the Club was changed to the Penang Rifle Club and full membership was opened to the public. During the year 1957 through the generosity of some members two Semi-automatic .22 Pistols were acquired and Pistol Shooting under N.S.R.A. Rules was introduced. Mr. Tan Seng Keat succeeded Mr. R. J. Tolley as Hon. Secretary in 1957 and continued as Hon. Secretary until 1977 when he declined re-nomination and Mr. Tan Leong Lay the present incumbent succeeded him.


In 1964 the Club became affiliated to the National Shooting Association of Malaysia and henceforth Penang Rifle Club members were eligible for selection to the National Team in International Games in which Shooting is one of the Events.

                            .....continue   (Next Page >)







If you require any assistance

please contact us at

Address:   Penang Rifle Club (Kelab Menembak Pulau Pinang)

804, Mukim 16, Waterfall Road, Penang, Malaysia.

Tel: 604-2262484 Fax: 604-2270600





CopyrightŠ  by Kelab Menembak Pulau Pinang.

This Web Site Uses FRAME PAGE Click HERE to refresh your screen.

Best view with 1024 x 768 Resolutions IE 6.0 Above.


Members of Malaysia Manufacturers Directory and Trade Portal Click to visit us.


This web site is designed and maintain by Malaysia Manufacturers Directory and Trade Portal.  

For any system errors please contact

Penang Real Estate Property Database. Sponsor Link: